Flash555 Logo

IPL 2024: Champions and Award Winners

• 28 May, 24 • by Inkspilled
IPL 2024: Champions and Award Winners


The 2024 IPL season concluded in spectacular style, showcasing thrilling matches and remarkable performances. On Sunday, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) claimed the championship title after a dominant victory over the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). In a one-sided final, SRH was bowled out for their lowest-ever total in an IPL final, scoring just 113 runs in 18.3 overs. KKR comfortably chased down the target, finishing at 114/2 in just 10.3 overs, securing their third IPL title after previous wins in 2012 and 2014.


Key Moments and Standout Performances

KKR’s Triumph:

– SRH: 113 (18.3 overs)

– KKR: 114/2 (10.3 overs)

– Result: KKR won by 8 wickets with 57 balls remaining.


Orange Cap Winner: Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) won the Orange Cap for scoring the most runs in the season. Kohli amassed 741 runs in 15 matches, once again proving his mettle as one of the premier batsmen in IPL history.


Purple Cap Winner: Harshal Patel

Harshal Patel from Punjab Kings (PBKS) earned the Purple Cap by taking 24 wickets in 14 matches. His consistent wicket-taking ability made him a pivotal player for PBKS throughout the season.


Most Valuable Player (MVP): Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine of KKR was named the Most Valuable Player of the season. Narine excelled with both bat and ball, playing a crucial role in KKR’s success. His all-round performance earned him the prestigious MVP title.


Emerging Player of the Season: Nitish Kumar Reddy

Nitish Kumar Reddy from SRH was recognized as the Emerging Player of the Season. Reddy impressed with his batting, scoring 303 runs and showcasing his potential for future national and international matches.


Electric Striker of the Season: Jake Fraser-McGurk

Jake Fraser-McGurk from Delhi Capitals (DC) was awarded the Electric Striker of the Season for his outstanding strike rate of 234.04. His ability to score quickly made him a valuable asset to his team.


Super Striker of the Season: Abhishek Sharma

Abhishek Sharma from SRH hit the most sixes in the IPL 2024 season, earning him the Super Striker of the Season award. His aggressive batting style was a highlight, with 42 sixes to his name.


Game-changer of the Season: Sunil Narine

In addition to being the MVP, Sunil Narine was also named the Game-changer of the Season for his impactful performances that significantly influenced the outcomes of matches.


Power Player of the Season: Travis Head

Travis Head from SRH was awarded the Power Player of the Season for hitting the most boundaries (64) during powerplay overs. His ability to score quickly at the start of innings set the tone for his team’s batting.


Fair Play Award: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Despite not winning the title, SRH won the Fair Play Award for playing the game in the best spirit throughout the season.


Catch of the Season: Ramandeep Singh

Ramandeep Singh from KKR took the best catch of the season against the Lucknow Super Giants, showcasing his exceptional fielding skills.


Man of the Match in the Final: Mitchell Starc

Mitchell Starc of KKR was named Man of the Match in the final for his brilliant bowling performance, taking 2 wickets for just 14 runs in 4 overs. His economical bowling was crucial in KKR’s victory.


The 2024 IPL season was a memorable one, filled with outstanding individual and team performances. Virat Kohli and Harshal Patel stood out with their exceptional contributions, earning the Orange Cap and Purple Cap respectively. Sunil Narine and Nitish Kumar Reddy also made significant impacts by earning multiple awards. The season highlighted both established stars and emerging talents, promising an exciting future for the league.

Related Post
  • Abhishek Sharma achieves the milestone of 1,000 IPL Runs for SRH

    Abhishek Sharma achieves the milestone of 1,000 IPL Runs for SRH

    • 11 Apr, 24 • by Inkspilled

    Abhishek Sharma has successfully carved his name in IPL history during Sunrisers Hyderabad's thrilling two-run victory over Punjab Kings on Tuesday. The left-handed opener achieved a remarkable feat - becoming the first indian uncapped player to score 1000 runs in the IPL for a single franchise, SRH!

  • Which Indian cricketers have earned the most through T20I match fees in 2023? 

    Which Indian cricketers have earned the most through T20I match fees in 2023? 

    • 05 Dec, 23 • by Inkspilled

    In 2023, the absence of star batters Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma from T20Is led to the team management testing young players. Consequently, the top earners from T20Is in 2023 are emerging superstars of the Indian team.

  • Ashwin Gears Up for a Historic 100th Test Match

    Ashwin Gears Up for a Historic 100th Test Match

    • 04 Mar, 24 • by Inkspilled

    It seems like R. Ashwin is always about to pick up some new milestones and etch his name over some new record playing Test cricket in this World Test Championship (WTC)2023-25. Ashwin, India's star all-rounder, is again on the border of adding another major milestone in his rich Test career. The upcoming fifth and final Test against England

Copyright © 2023 Flash Exchange