Flash555 Logo

Kohli Becomes First Indian Batter to Score 700-Plus Runs in Two IPL Seasons

• 21 May, 24 • by Inkspilled
Kohli Becomes First Indian Batter to Score 700-Plus Runs in Two IPL Seasons


Virat Kohli continues his reign of dominance in the IPL, etching his name in the history books once again. The Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman became the first Indian player to score over 700 runs in two separate IPL seasons! This remarkable feat was achieved during RCB’s crucial match against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Bengaluru.


Kohli’s knock of 47 runs came off just 29 balls, showcasing his aggressive intent. With a strike rate of over 162, he displayed a perfect blend of power and precision. This inning further solidified his lead in the run-scoring charts for IPL 2024. Currently, he sits at a staggering 708 runs in just 14 games, averaging an impressive 64.36. Notably, his strike rate of 155.60 is his highest ever in an IPL season, highlighting his newfound attacking approach.


This achievement isn’t Kohli’s only milestone this season. He previously crossed the 700-run mark in 2016, scoring a phenomenal 973 runs in 16 matches.  Interestingly, May 18th seems to be a lucky charm for both Kohli and RCB. The team has a perfect record on this date, and Kohli himself has amassed a staggering 343 runs in five innings played on May 18th, boasting an exceptional average of 85.75, including two centuries and a fifty.


The match against CSK was a tense affair, with high stakes for both teams. CSK chose to bowl first, and RCB, led by Faf du Plessis’ 54 runs and Kohli’s crucial 47, managed a competitive total of 218 runs for 5 wickets. However, to qualify for the playoffs, RCB needed to restrict CSK to a score below 201.


While Kohli dominates the batting charts, another RCB player, Harshal Patel, is leading the race for the Purple Cap, awarded to the bowler with the most wickets in the tournament. Patel currently sits at the top with 24 wickets, surpassing the likes of Jasprit Bumrah (20 wickets). Arshdeep Singh, Varun Chakravarthy, and Tushar Deshpande follow closely behind with 19, 18, and 17 wickets respectively.


The chase was a thriller, with CSK coming within touching distance of victory. Thanks to a six and a four from Ravindra Jadeja in the last over, CSK needed just 10 runs from the final two balls to qualify. However, young fast bowler Yash Dayal held his nerve and delivered two crucial deliveries to deny CSK the win. This dramatic finish secured a vital 27-run victory and a much-needed playoff spot for RCB.

With the playoffs approaching, the IPL is set to witness even more intense competition. Can Kohli maintain his run-scoring dominance? Will RCB continue their winning momentum and lift the coveted IPL trophy? Only time will tell, but one thing’s for sure – the upcoming matches promise to be nothing short of thrilling!

Related Post
Copyright © 2023 Flash Exchange