Flash555 Logo

Sunil Narine Shines as IPL’s First Triple MVP

• 28 May, 24 • by Inkspilled
Sunil Narine Shines as IPL’s First Triple MVP


Kolkata Knight Riders‘ star player, Sunil Narine, has made history by becoming the first player to win the ‘Most Valuable Player’ (MVP) award three times in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Narine’s extraordinary performances with both bat and ball throughout the IPL 2024 season secured this remarkable achievement.


On May 26, the day of the IPL 2024 Final and his birthday, Narine celebrated in style by adding another MVP trophy to his collection. In the 17th season of the IPL, Narine was a force to be reckoned with. He scored a remarkable 488 runs in 14 innings at a blistering strike rate of 179.85, including a century and three fifties. His powerful batting saw him hit 33 sixes and 50 fours, showcasing his ability to dominate the bowlers.


With the ball, Narine was equally impressive. He took 17 wickets at an economy rate of 6.69, proving to be a reliable and economical bowler for his team. His all-round performance was instrumental in KKR’s success, culminating in them lifting their third IPL trophy.


Narine’s path to the MVP award was made easier when his closest competitor, Virat Kohli, was eliminated from contention after Royal Challengers Bangalore were knocked out by Rajasthan Royals. With Kohli out of the race, Narine’s stellar season ensured he had no rivals in the final stretch.


In the IPL 2024 final against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, Narine continued his excellent form. He took one crucial wicket, giving away just 16 runs in his four overs and removing Jaydev Unadkat in the 18th over. During KKR’s run chase, Narine contributed with the bat as well, scoring six runs off two balls at a strike rate of 300.


KKR, led by Shreyas Iyer, dominated the final, defeating SRH by eight wickets. SRH, who chose to bat first after winning the toss, struggled against KKR’s potent bowling attack. Only skipper Pat Cummins and Aiden Markram managed to score above 20 runs, with SRH getting bowled out for a meager 113 in 18.3 overs. Andre Russell was the standout bowler for KKR, taking three wickets for 19 runs, while Mitchell Starc and Harshit Rana also made significant contributions.


In response, KKR chased down the target of 114 runs in just 10.3 overs. Venkatesh Iyer played a brilliant innings, scoring 52 not out off 26 balls, supported by Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who scored 39 off 32 balls.

Related Post
  • ICC T20 World Cup 2024: The Cricket Extravaganza Begins

    ICC T20 World Cup 2024: The Cricket Extravaganza Begins

    • 14 Feb, 24 • by Inkspilled

    Cricket fans, time to rejoice! Why? Cause the wait is almost over as the highly anticipated ICC T20 World Cup is set to explode onto our screens this June. This year's edition promises to be bigger, bolder, and more exciting than ever before.

  • Young Gun Yadav Blazes Fastest Delivery of IPL 2024!

    Young Gun Yadav Blazes Fastest Delivery of IPL 2024!

    • 05 Apr, 24 • by Inkspilled

    Lucknow Super Giants' Mayank Yadav has become the talk of the town after bowling the fastest ball of the IPL 2024 season so far! Clocking an impressive 156.7 kmph during their match against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), the 21-year-old not only broke his own record but also secured a place in the history books.

  • Shami Out of IPL, T20 World Cup Chances Uncertain

    Shami Out of IPL, T20 World Cup Chances Uncertain

    • 23 Feb, 24 • by Inkspilled

    The Indian fans as well as Gujarat Titans (GT) received a major setback as Mohammed Shami, their key player, has been ruled out of the upcoming IPL 2024 season. Shami, who played a crucial role in India's performance in the ODI World Cup, suffered an ankle injury post the tournament. The ace pacer missed the Test series vs South Africa and was also not part of the squad.

Copyright © 2023 Flash Exchange