Flash555 Logo

Top 5 run-making Batsmen in IPL

• 06 Mar, 24 • by Gaurav Sauran
Top 5 run-making Batsmen in IPL

The IPL is all set to kick off its 17th season on March 22nd, 2024! This hugely popular tournament has seen some incredible batting displays over the years. Here’s a look at the top 5 run scorers in IPL history:

Virat Kohli

Leading the pack is former Indian captain Virat Kohli. He’s racked up a whopping 7263 runs in his IPL career, averaging 37 runs per inning and striking at a blazing 130!  With 7 centuries and a record-breaking 50 half-centuries, his most dominant year was 2016, where he smashed an incredible 973 runs! He recently surpassed Chris Gayle’s record for most centuries (100s) in the IPL with his hundred against Gujarat Titans in 2023.

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan, India’s ODI opener, takes the second spot. He’s piled up 6617 runs at an average of 35 and a strike rate of 127.  He’s been a key player for Delhi Capitals and previously impressed while opening alongside David Warner for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

David Warner

David Warner is the highest run-scorer among overseas players and the third overall. He recently overtook Rohit Sharma’s record, with a total of 6397 runs at an impressive average of 41 and a strike rate of nearly 140!  Known for his aggressive batting, Warner has smashed 4 centuries and a massive 61 fifties. After a slow start in the last IPL, he’s back with his former team, Delhi Capitals.  He’s also a three-time winner of the Orange Cap, awarded to the tournament’s leading run-scorer.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma, the five-time IPL champion captain, is also a batting powerhouse. He’s collected 6211 runs, the fourth-most overall. While his average is lower than the others at 29, his strike rate is a healthy 130.  He has one century and a massive 42 fifties to his name, with his highest score being an unbeaten 109. Though he previously opened for Mumbai Indians, the recent season saw Hardik Pandya take on that role.

Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina, fondly known as “Mr. IPL,” truly lives up to the name. He’s amassed 5528 runs at an average of 32 and a strike rate of over 136. With his consistent performances throughout the tournament’s history, Raina remains a legend of the IPL.

Player Team Matches Runs HS Avg SR
Virat Kohli Bangalore 237 7263 113 37.24 130.02
Shikhar Dhawan Punjab 217 6617 106* 35.38 127.17
David Warner Delhi 176 6387 126 41.53 139.91
Rohit Sharma Mumbai 243 6211 109* 29.57 130.04
Suresh Raina Chennai 205 5528 100* 32.52 136.76
Related Post
  • ICC T20 World Cup 2024: The Cricket Extravaganza Begins

    ICC T20 World Cup 2024: The Cricket Extravaganza Begins

    • 14 Feb, 24 • by Gaurav Sauran

    Cricket fans, time to rejoice! Why? Cause the wait is almost over as the highly anticipated ICC T20 World Cup is set to explode onto our screens this June. This year's edition promises to be bigger, bolder, and more exciting than ever before.

  • Most runs in International cricket for India

    Most runs in International cricket for India

    • 16 Feb, 24 • by Gaurav Sauran

    Rohit Sharma has overtaken Sourav Ganguly to become the fourth Indian batter with the most runs in International cricket for India. The Indian captain surpassed the former captain, becoming the fourth-highest run-getter for India in International cricket.

  • Rohit Sharma Smashes 100th Six at Wankhede Stadium in IPL!

    Rohit Sharma Smashes 100th Six at Wankhede Stadium in IPL!

    • 13 Apr, 24 • by Gaurav Sauran

    Mumbai Indians opener Rohit Sharma, known for his explosive batting, has achieved a remarkable feat! During a recent match against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Sharma hit a massive six that marked his 100th six at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, specifically in T20 matches. This achievement highlights Sharma's

Copyright © 2023 Flash Exchange